Our parish history begins in May 1914, when Archbishop Kelly appointed Father J. H. Morris to the parish of Maroubra, newly cut off from Randwick parish. The parish of Maroubra included the areas of Maroubra Bay, Pagewood and Malabar – stretching out to La Perouse, and was quoted to be ‘sparsely populated and of a sandy and swampy nature’.
Fr Morris purchased an acre of land for the purposes of building a church-school and the foundation stone for St Aidan’s, Maroubra was laid by Archbishop Kelly on December 13, 1914. The Brigidine Sisters were invited to begin a school in the building which is the present parish and school hall, enrolling 60 pupils in Easter 1915.
Please explore the links provided for memories, stories and see how the parish grew and established the parishes of Maroubra Bay, Pagewood and Malabar. We hope to build upon the what has been gathered to record the history of our parish more faithfully.